ISU Section

Indiana State University Student Section

Posted: Jun 03, 2017

During the 2017 Spring ROC, the Central Indiana Chapter Executive Board and Region 7 officers approved the establishment of a Student Section at Indiana State University in Terre Haute, IN.

ASSE seeks to provide additional opportunities for students to learn more about their chosen areas of study, as well as promote interaction between students and safety professionals.  The organizational structure of ASSE student sections is quite similar to that of many others: primary student section officers consist of the president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer. In addition, a student section faculty advisor must be a regular ASSE member. The faculty advisor serves as the coordinator for the student section and must verify and sign all applications for ASSE student membership.

ISU and Purdue University Safety Programs Receive GSP Designation Status

Posted: Jun 03, 2017

April 2017, Indiana State University in Terre Haute and Purdue University in West Lafayette undergraduate degree programs were approved as Qualified Academic Programs by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.  As a result, upon graduation, students are eligible to apply and receive the Graduate Safety Professional Designation (GSP).  The GSP designation will substitute for the required Associate Safety Professional (ASP) credential.

The GSP designation is a very prestigious and valuable credential and highlights the rigor and quality of the ISU and Purdue University’s Safety Programs.  Congratulations to the both schools and thanks to all who have contributed to the success of the program.

Understanding the Graduate Safety Practitioner Program

The Graduate Safety Practitioner® (GSP®) is an additional path to the CSP available to safety degree graduates from degree programs which meet BCSP Qualified Academic Program (QAP) standards. Those awarded the GSP designation meet the requirement of holding a BCSP approved credential.

For more information visit and


2017 Central Indiana ASSE Jim Kriner Memorial Scholarships

Posted: Apr 04, 2017

The ASSE Foundation Board of Trustees announced the 2017 Scholarship and Professional Education Grant Recipients.  Because of the Central Indiana Chapter’s generous contributions the Board of Trustees have selected the following individuals for the Central Indiana ASSE Jim Kriner Memorial Scholarships:

  • Lucas Letner – $3,000 scholarship (Indiana University Bloomington)
  • Daneil Borkowski – $1,000 scholarship (Indiana State University)
  • Tanner Warner – $1,000 scholarship (Indiana University Bloomington)

Please join the Chapter’s Board of Officers in congratulating these students.